World History: A Guide to Library Research

Also included are: Iter Italicum, Renaissance Quarterly Online, Early Theatre, REED Newsletter, Renaissance and Reformation and the International Directory of Scholars. Browse the collections

Content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive. Includes wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more from the European Bureaus Collection: 1952-2000 and Middle East Bureaus Collection: 1967-2005.

Includes these collections:

• Current Digest of the Chinese Press: Articles from key Chinese newspapers translated into English, 2011-present. 
   
• Current Digest of the Russian Press
   
• Moscow News Digital Archive (1930-2014)
   
• Russian Central Newspapers (1997 – present)
   
• Periodicals of Central Asia and the Caucasus (2000 - present)
   
• Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (19th & early 20th centuries)
   
• International Affairs Digital Archive
   
• Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers: Selection of digitized newspapers in Arabic, English, and French.
   
• Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive (L.A. Japanese Daily News, 1904 – 2021)
   
• Slavic and Judaica E-Books
   
• World News Connection: News from around the world, translated into English, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast. The information is obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports, and is collected and translated by and for the U.S. Government.

Keywords: World news

Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee: be sure to check Journal Finder to see if the Thompson Library provides access to a source before paying a fee for it. Articles related to a single story within a given time period are grouped together to allow users to see a broad perspective on the topics they are searching. In addition to seeing results ranked by relevancy, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline.

Tips for using this collection are available in the Adam Matthew Digital Help Centre.

Includes these collections:
 

• African American Communities
   
• Age of Exploration
   
• America in World War Two
   
• American History
   
• American Indian Histories and Cultures
   
• American West
   
• Apartheid South Africa, 1948 - 1980
   
• Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922
   
• Children's Literature and Culture
   
• China, America and the Pacific
   
• China: Culture and Society
   
• China: Trade, Politics and Culture
   
• Church Missionary Society
   
• Colonial America
   
• Confidential Print: Africa
   
• Confidential Print: Latin America
   
• Confidential Print: North America
   
• Defining Gender
   
• Early Modern England
   
• East India Company
   
• Eighteenth Century Drama
   
• Eighteenth Century Journals
   
• Empire Online
   
• Everyday Life and Women in America
   
• First World War
   
• Food and Drink
   
• Foreign Office Files for China
   
• Foreign Office Files for India
   
• Foreign Office Files for Japan
   
• Foreign Office Files for South East Asia
   
• Foreign Office Files for the Middle East
   
• Frontier Life
   
• Gender Identity and Social Change
   
• Gilded Age
   
• Global Commodities
   
• India, Raj and Empire
   
• J Walter Thompson: Advertising America
   
• Jewish Life in America c.1654-1954
   
• Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture
   
• Life at Sea
   
• Literary Manuscripts Berg
   
• Literary Manuscripts Leeds
   
• Literary Print Culture
   
• London Low Life
   
• Macmillan Cabinet Papers
   
• Market Research and American Business
   
• Mass Observation Online
   
• Medical Services and Warfare
   
• Medieval Family Life
   
• Medieval Travel
   
• Meiji Japan
   
• Migration to New Worlds
   
• Nineteenth Century Literary Society: The John Murray Publishing Archive
   
• Perdita Manuscripts
   
• Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
   
• Race Relations in America
   
• Research Source - AS:China and Southeast Asia
   
• Research Source - AS:India
   
• Research Source - AS:Japan
   
• Research Source - Business, Economic and Labour History
   
• Research Source - CMS
   
• Research Source - Empire
   
• Research Source - Literary Studies
   
• Research Source - Medieval and Early Modern Studies
   
• Research Source - Missionary Studies
   
• Research Source - Women's Studies
   
• Research Source - World War Two Studies
   
• Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
   
• Service Newspapers of World War 2
   
• Shakespeare In Performance
   
• Shakespeare's Globe Archive
   
• Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
   
• Socialism on Film: The Cold War
   
• The Grand Tour
   
• The Nixon Years
   
• Trade Catalogues and the American Home
   
• Travel Writing
   
• Victorian Popular Culture
   
• Victorians on Film
   
• Virginia Company Archives
   
• Women in the National Archives
   
• Worlds Fairs

Contains nearly a million collection descriptions contributed by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. A combination of brief descriptions derived from catalog records in the RLG Union Catalog, and more detailed archival finding aids harvested from the Internet, including those that conform to the EAD (Encoded Archival Description) format standard.

The Visual History Archive contains 55,000 audiovisual interviews with survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. Interviewees are primarily Jewish survivors, though the archive also includes interviews with gay/lesbian, Jehovah's Witness, and Roma and Sinta (Gypsy) survivors, survivors of eugenics policies, political prisoners, rescuers and aid providers, liberators, and war crimes trial participants.

Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the following:

• 1915 Armenian Genocide
• 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China
• Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979
• Guatemalan Genocide of the early 1980s
• 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda
• Ongoing conflict in the Central African Republic
• Contemporary acts of violence against Jews

The interviews were conducted in 62 different countries and in 41 languages and comprise the most extensive resource of its type. Each interview is fully indexed, thus allowing the viewer to search using either the assigned index terms or a free-text search. Additionally, transcripts are provided for many of the testimonies.

Includes these collections:

• Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic  
• Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council  
• Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic  
• Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council  
• Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council  
• Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany  

This archive on witchcraft includes texts dating from the 15th century to the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the so-called "classic period" of the 16th to 18th centuries. In addition to these classic texts, the archive includes:

• Anti-persecution writings  
• Works by penologists  
• Legal and church documents  
• Exposés of persecutions  
• Philosophical writings  
• Transcripts of trials  
• Exorcisms

The majority of these texts, sourced from the Cornell University library, are in Latin, English and German, although there are also selected items in French, Italian, Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, and Spanish. Covers 1500-1930.