LibGuides: World History: A Guide to Library Research: Ancient & Medieval History

Journal Articles & Scholarly Publishing

BREPOLiS Databases Portal This link opens in a new window
Gateway to databases and text collections focusing on Classical and Medieval European history.
Includes the following databases:
- Bibliography of British and Irish History: Bibliographic data on historical writing about the British Isles and the Commonwealth for all periods from 55 B.C. to present. Content is primarily books and articles published since 1900.
- International Medieval Bibliography
- Bibliographie de Civilisation Medivale
- International Directory of Medievalists
- Database of Latin Dictionaries
- Databases searchable via Cross Database Searchtool:
  - Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
  - Aristoteles Latinus Database
  - Monumenta Germaniae Historica
  - Library of Latin Texts - Series A & B
Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Lists articles, notes, etc. in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays on all aspects of medieval studies.
Provides a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at the Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.

The IMB offers an unparalleled tool for medievalists to identify the contents of current work published throughout Europe, the Americas and the Asia-Pacific region.

The discipline areas to which the IMB is relevant include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
1895-present (varies by title). Includes citations from 1,600 scholarly journals in all areas of Medieval and Renaissance studies (400-1700).
Also included are: Iter Italicum, Renaissance Quarterly Online, Early Theatre, REED Newsletter, Renaissance and Reformation and the International Directory of Scholars. Browse the collections

Archives and Primary Sources

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world
Contains nearly a million collection descriptions contributed by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. A combination of brief descriptions derived from catalog records in the RLG Union Catalog, and more detailed archival finding aids harvested from the Internet, including those that conform to the EAD (Encoded Archival Description) format standard.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina & Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window
Latin texts from Antiquity, Late Antiquity, Medieval, and modern eras.
BREPOLiS Databases Portal This link opens in a new window
Gateway to databases and text collections focusing on Classical and Medieval European history.
Includes the following databases:
- Bibliography of British and Irish History: Bibliographic data on historical writing about the British Isles and the Commonwealth for all periods from 55 B.C. to present. Content is primarily books and articles published since 1900.
- International Medieval Bibliography
- Bibliographie de Civilisation Medivale
- International Directory of Medievalists
- Database of Latin Dictionaries
- Databases searchable via Cross Database Searchtool:
  - Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
  - Aristoteles Latinus Database
  - Monumenta Germaniae Historica
  - Library of Latin Texts - Series A & B
History Collections (Brill Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Collections of primary sources in Asian, Latin American, Middle Eastern & Islamic, Slavic, Jewish, Religious, and general historical studies.
Translated Texts for Historians E-Library This link opens in a new window
English translations of key historical sources in Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian, and Armenian, from the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages. Includes introductions and notes.