LibGuides: World History: A Guide to Library Research: Latin American History

Archives and Primary Sources

Adam Matthew Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Digital primary collections sourced from around the world.
Tips for using this collection are available in the Adam Matthew Digital Help Centre.

Includes these collections:
- African American Communities
- Age of Exploration
- America in World War Two
- American History
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
- American West
- Apartheid South Africa, 1948 - 1980
- Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922
- Children's Literature and Culture
- China, America and the Pacific
- China: Culture and Society
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture
- Church Missionary Society
- Colonial America
- Confidential Print: Africa
- Confidential Print: Latin America
- Confidential Print: North America
- Defining Gender
- Early Modern England
- East India Company
- Eighteenth Century Drama
- Eighteenth Century Journals
- Empire Online
- Everyday Life and Women in America
- First World War
- Food and Drink
- Foreign Office Files for China
- Foreign Office Files for India
- Foreign Office Files for Japan
- Foreign Office Files for South East Asia
- Foreign Office Files for the Middle East
- Frontier Life
- Gender Identity and Social Change
- Gilded Age
- Global Commodities
- India, Raj and Empire
- J Walter Thompson: Advertising America
- Jewish Life in America c.1654-1954
- Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture
- Life at Sea
- Literary Manuscripts Berg
- Literary Manuscripts Leeds
- Literary Print Culture
- London Low Life
- Macmillan Cabinet Papers
- Market Research and American Business
- Mass Observation Online
- Medical Services and Warfare
- Medieval Family Life
- Medieval Travel
- Meiji Japan
- Migration to New Worlds
- Nineteenth Century Literary Society: The John Murray Publishing Archive
- Perdita Manuscripts
- Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
- Race Relations in America
- Research Source - AS:China and Southeast Asia
- Research Source - AS:India
- Research Source - AS:Japan
- Research Source - Business, Economic and Labour History
- Research Source - CMS
- Research Source - Empire
- Research Source - Literary Studies
- Research Source - Medieval and Early Modern Studies
- Research Source - Missionary Studies
- Research Source - Women's Studies
- Research Source - World War Two Studies
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
- Service Newspapers of World War 2
- Shakespeare In Performance
- Shakespeare's Globe Archive
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War
- The Grand Tour
- The Nixon Years
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home
- Travel Writing
- Victorian Popular Culture
- Victorians on Film
- Virginia Company Archives
- Women in the National Archives
- Worlds Fairs
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world
Contains nearly a million collection descriptions contributed by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. A combination of brief descriptions derived from catalog records in the RLG Union Catalog, and more detailed archival finding aids harvested from the Internet, including those that conform to the EAD (Encoded Archival Description) format standard.
Regional & Area Studies Collections This link opens in a new window
Contains collections of resources for Africa, Canada, the Caribbean, Central & Eastern Europe, the Middle East, the British Empire, and historical publications worldwide.
Includes these collections:
- Africa-Wide Information
- Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
- Caribbean Search
- Central & Eastern European Academic Source
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
- Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
- Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from archives in the United States & Europe. The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, & more.

Books

Books about Latin American history can be found in the F section of the library's main collection, specifically from F 1001 - F 3800. Remember that you can get books from the Ann Arbor campus sent to Flint through the Get This service.

Multimedia

Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries from Latin America, in their original languages. Topics include human rights, immigration, popular culture, education, political history.
Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. It includes approximately 400 original-language documentariesover 300 hours in allfrom some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. Issues include human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history.