Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Flint & Local History

African American Community

Flint's ethnic diversity increased markedly with the labor demands of the auto industry. History of the substantial African-American community is documented well in the papers of Edgar Holt and Olive Beasley in the GHCC. Also of interest are the papers of Peter Jacquette and Roger Townsend and the scrapbooks of the Flint Urban League. 


Books

Newspapers: Collection 103 Genesee County Periodical collection

  • Society for Afro-American Police
  • NAACP Branch Newsletter
  • The Michigan Gazette
  • The Forum Magazine
  • The Flint Times
  • The Good News Journal
  • Flint Mirror
  • The Flint Spokesman
  • Community News
  • The Flint Herald-Examiner
  • Flint Downtown Ambassador
  • Afro-American News
  • The Flint Enquirer
  • The Flintstone Times
  • The Flint Editorial Weekly Newspaper
  • Concerned Pastors for Social Action Courier

Arab American Community

The Arab American community has deep roots in the Flint area. 

Books

Jewish Community

Archival

Esther Findeberg (1914-2000) discusses the industrial Avenue neighborhood, where her immigrant parents ran a bakery and their attitudes towards the site down strike. (Digital Archive - University of Michigan - Flint Labor History Project collection)

Collection 065 History Department collection – Student Family Histories, Oral History Project & Student papers

Books

Newspapers: Collection 103 Genesee County Periodical collection

  • The Flint Jewish Reporter
  • Flint Jewish Reporter FJCC News
  • Operation MASADA
  • The Flint Jewish Community Council Reporter

Other Groups

The GHCC also has microfilm copies of naturalization records of Genesee County, c.1838-1959. 

The large migration of whites from the Missouri Bootheel and neighboring Arkansas and Tennessee is discussed in Beynon's seminal article "The Southern White Laborer Migrates to Michigan."