Flint's newspapers began with the Flint River Gazette in 1839 (an issue of which can be found at the Bentley Historical Library in Ann Arbor). The periodical collection, Collection 103, contains interesting examples of community/neighborhood newspapers, sports papers, special interests newspapers, and ethnic newspapers serving the African American, Jewish, Arbab, and European Immigrant communities.
The chief runs of 19th-century Flint newspapers include the following titles. All can be found on microfilm, at the Genesee Historical Collections Center (as well as Flint Public Library)
For the entire 20th century, however, the newspaper of record has been the Flint Journal, published since 1896, although the run of microfilmed newspapers starts in 1898 and continues to the present. Digitized, searchable copies of the Journal are available online from 1898 - 1922 and from 1995 - present.
Content of The Flint Journal, including articles, illustrations, advertisements, and other content. Includes images (1898-1995; 2018 to present), and text (1995 to present).
Flint Journal Indexes & Chronologies
For the years 1965 to 1983 an index to the Journal was compiled and published by the Flint Public Library.
For the years 1912 to 1935, the Journal compiled annual chronologies of events for the previous year; these have been republished and indexed and are available in Reference and in the GHCC.
Includes all articles from all editions of the Detroit Free Press.
Searchable, browsable online access The Michigan Daily, UM-Ann Arbor's student-run newspaper.
Digital newspapers published in Michigan, mostly before 1923.
University of Michigan-Flint