LibGuides: Flint &amp; Local History: A Guide to Library Research: Genealogy

Genealogy Resources

For genealogical research and research on individuals, several sources are available. The decennial manuscript census schedules are available in indexed form from 1860 to 1920 in HeritageQuest Online and up to 1940 in FamilySearch, although one must look for personal names.

FamilySearch This link opens in a new window
Free genealogical website, with millions of historical records. Search options include a catalog, books, genealogies, and a Wiki.
MyHeritage Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions.
Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); census of England and Wales (1841-1901); U.S. World War II Army Enlistment as well as records of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers. Over 2 billion family trees.

Flint Public Library | Genealogy
Flint Public Library is home to the second largest open stack genealogical collection in Michigan. This page provides information about how to use their collection, describes the contents of the collection, and leads to genealogy resources online.
FGS Holdings at Sloan Museum’s Perry Archives
One of the two main genealogical repositories in the county.
Flint Genealogical Society
Gravestone inscriptions for most of the cemeteries of Genesee County have been published by the Flint Genealogical Society, and they can be found on the shelves of the GHCC.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Guide to historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world
Contains nearly a million collection descriptions contributed by thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. A combination of brief descriptions derived from catalog records in the RLG Union Catalog, and more detailed archival finding aids harvested from the Internet, including those that conform to the EAD (Encoded Archival Description) format standard.

City Directories

City directories for Flint begin their coverage in 1870 but become more consistent after 1900. These are found in the GHCC and Flint Public Library.

Library Catalog Search for Polk City Directories
The Polk company city directories cross-index residents' names, addresses, and phone numbers. This search returns library catalog records for the directories held in the UM-Flint Thompson Library and GHCC.

Court Records

Genesee County Probate Court records from 1835 to 1953 are deposited at the GHCC, although adoption records remain sealed at the original office. Access to these records is through the probate calendars available in the GHCC's reading room, and, in the future, an online index.

Genesee County Probate Records | Online Finding Aid
The records considered here include all records of the Probate Court from its beginnings in 1836 until 1953, with the exception of adoption records and juvenile records.

Death Records

FGS Holdings at Sloan Museum’s Perry Archives
One of the two main genealogical repositories in the county.
Flint Public Library | Genealogy
Flint Public Library is home to the second largest open stack genealogical collection in Michigan. This page provides information about how to use their collection, describes the contents of the collection, and leads to genealogy resources online.
Flint Genealogical Society
Gravestone inscriptions for most of the cemeteries of Genesee County have been published by the Flint Genealogical Society, and they can be found on the shelves of the GHCC.
Genealogical Death Indexing System | Michigan Department of Public Health
Contains over 460,000 Michigan death records from 1867-1897.
Seeking Michigan
Seeking Michigan is the online platform for the Michigan Historical Center. It includes Archives of Michigan research guides and indexes, a blog, and educator resources. Includes 2 collections of death records from 1897 - 1920 and from 1921 - 1952.

FamilySearch This link opens in a new window
Death records to 1935, as well as birth records from 1867 to 1902 and marriage records running well into the 20th century.

Flint & Local History: A Guide to Library Research

Have a Question? Need Some Help?

Genealogy Resources

City Directories

Court Records

Death Records